From The New World


13 Apr 2019, 7:30 PM - 8:30 PM




Alexey Vasilyev, conductor

Nellie Seng, piano solo

NAFA Orchestra

Mikhail Glinka: Overture to Ruslan and Ludmilla

Sergei Rachmaninoff: Piano Concerto No. 3 in D minor, Op. 30

Antonín Dvořák: Symphony No. 9 in E minor, "From the New World", Op. 95

Under the direction of Maestro Alexey Vasilyev, Rector and Professor at The Rimsky-Korsakov St. Petersburg State Conservatory, the NAFA Orchestra presents Antonín Dvořák’s Symphony No. 9 “From The New World”, described by music journalist Tom Service as “an evocation of some kind of musical otherness […] from outside the conventions of the late 19th century European symphony”. Dr. Nellie Seng, piano faculty member at the NAFA School of Music, is the soloist for Sergei Rachmaninoff’s Piano Concerto No. 3 in D minor. Opening the concert is the overture to Mikhail Glinka’s Ruslan and Ludmilla.

Discover More Gigs

Let your friends know about this event

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Pinterest Print Share


Victoria Concert Hall
9 Empress Place
Singapore 179556