Resounding Classics 《经典回响》


1 Sep 2019, 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM




This September, City Chinese Orchestra presents Resounding Classics, a one-evening-only showcase of enduring orchestral classics which popularised the modern Chinese orchestra in the 20th Century. Under the baton of music director and Cultural Medallion recipient Dr. Tay Teow Kiat, the Orchestra breathes life into the evocative compositions by the great masters of Chinese orchestral music. The Orchestra will perform seminal orchestral pieces such as The Great Wall Capriccio, Dance of the Yao Tribe, and The Gada Meilin Symphony. Soloist Wang Guiying takes the stage in the erhu concerto Parting of the Newlyweds, while guzheng maestro Yin Qun captures General Yue Fei’s bitterness and sorrow in The Lament at Lin’an. City Chinese Orchestra’s Principal Tay Soon Dee performs with his young protege, Beverly Goh, in a delightful dizi duet, A Joyful Reunion.

In Resounding Classics, City Chinese Orchestra showcases its unique strengths in interpreting tunes steeped in Chinese tradition, and celebrates its 45-year journey as a home-grown Singaporean orchestra with a distinctive presence on the world stage.


The Great Wall Capriccio        Liu Wenjin

In Memoriam: Guan Yu          Gu Guanren

Dance of the Yao Tribe           Liu Tieshan, Mao Yuan, arr. Peng Xiuwen

The Gada Meilin Symphony    Xin Huguang, arr. Liu Wenjin

Parting of the Newlyweds       Zhang Xiaofeng, Zhu Xiaogu 

The Lament at Lin’an              Lin Jiliang, arr. He Zhanhao  

A Joyful Reunion                    arr. Feng Zicun, Fang Kun




长城随想曲           刘文金

义贯千古--祭关羽  顾冠仁

瑶族舞曲               刘铁山/茅沅,彭修文编曲

嘎达梅林交响诗    辛沪光,刘文金编曲

新婚别                   张晓峰/朱晓谷 

临安遗恨               林吉良,何占豪编曲

喜相逢                   冯子存/方堃编曲

Discover More Gigs

Let your friends know about this event

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Pinterest Print Share


Victoria Concert Hall
9 Empress Place
Singapore 179556