VCHpresents Chamber: The Pavel Haas Quartet - The Great Fugue


29 May 2020, 7:30 PM - 9:30 PM




One of the world’s most exciting contemporary chamber ensembles, the much-lauded Pavel Haas Quartet is named after the Czech composer Pavel Haas (1899–1944). Their reputation for championing the music – both familiar and unfamiliar – of their homeland is showcased in this programme of Dvořák’s popular American String Quartet and the work of the early 20th century Erwin Schulhoff. The concert ends with the titanic Op. 130 Quartet by Beethoven, one of his final works. The PHQ perform it in its original version with the famous Grosse Fuge or “Great Fugue”, which Igor Stravinsky called "an absolutely contemporary piece of music that will be contemporary forever."

Pavel Haas Quartet

· Veronika Jarůšková, violin

· Marek Zwiebel, violin

· Jiří Kabát, viola

· Peter Jarůšek, cello

SCHULHOFF String Quartet No. 1

DVOŘÁK String Quartet No. 12 in F major, Op. 96 "American"

BEETHOVEN String Quartet No. 13 in B-flat major, Op. 130 and Great Fugue, Op. 133

You may also like:

The Stradivari Quartet Plays Beethoven

Seong-Jin Cho: Playing With Fire

Discover More Gigs

Let your friends know about this event

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Pinterest Print Share


Victoria Concert Hall
9 Empress Place
Singapore 179556